UMaine NWS Spring Season 2008

The UMaine New Writing Series returns for its eighteenth consecutive semester this spring with an exciting line-up featuring poetry, fiction, creative non-fiction, and poetics. Please mark your calendar with the following dates:

14 Feb – Mel Nichols & Rod Smith

21 Feb – Grady Award Winners

28 Feb – Stephen Cope & Catherine Taylor

20 Mar – ElĂ©na Rivera & Jennifer Moxley

26 Mar – Thomas Sayers Ellis (Hill Auditorium)

03 Apr – Rodney Koeneke & Benjamin Friedlander

10 Apr – Julia Elliott

29 Apr – Patricia Sithole & Otrude Moyo (Hill Auditorium)

All events are scheduled for 4:30pm at the Soderberg Center Auditorium in Jenness Hall on the University of Maine campus in Orono, Maine (except where otherwise noted). For more information about individual events, keep an eye on this blog.

The New Writing Series began in 1999 and has since hosted more than 120 events featuring more than 155 individual writers. The Series is sponsored by the UMaine English Department and the National Poetry Foundation with support from the Lloyd H. Elliott fund and grants from the UMaine Cultural Affairs Committee.

This season’s programming is dedicated to the memory of Sylvester Pollet and Burton Hatlen, two poets and friends of poetry whose incomparable company will be sorely missed.